Mike Arnold-Gilliat

It is with great sadness that we have to record that one of our Vice Presidents and a long-serving friend and Committee member of the Head of the River Fours, Mike Arnold-Gilliat, passed away peacefully on 16 June in Charing Cross Hospital, London, after a short struggle with pneumonia. He was 81.

A member of Cygnet Rowing Club for almost all his adult life, Mike’s real talents lay in the administrative rather than the active side of rowing. For half a century the name of MAG was synonymous with Civil Service rowing on the Tideway. Mike also served the Head of the River Fours for many years as Committee member and Entries Secretary. It was largely due to his negotiating skills that the event secured the long-term sponsorship from Fullers which has been so valuable to the race for so many years.

Mike is greatly missed by his multitude of friends in the rowing world.

The 2016 Committee comprises:

Richard Fuller

Position Name Club
President Jim Hopkins Auriol Kensington RC
Vice President John Booker Auriol Kensington RC
Vice President Ann Musgrave Burway RC
Vice President Chris Shea Cygnet RC
Chairman Sarah Winckless (u) Marlow RC
Deputy Chairman Bill Mitchell Thames Tradesmen RC
Hon. Secretary Noel Davison
Tideway Scullers
Hon. Treasurer Tony Harris (u) Sidney Sussex College, Cambridge
Entries Secretary Richard du Parcq
Cygnet RC
Digital Media & Assistant Entries Sec Liz Wray (u) Royal Hong Kong YC
Press Officer Daniel Spring
Ardingly RC
Chief Umpire Judith Packer (u)
Staines BC
Chief Marshal Caroline R. Smith (u)
Thames RC
Results Ken Wootton Auriol Kensington RC
Launch Organiser Richard Philips (u) London RC
Safety Adviser Jerry Mitchell (u) University of London
Chief Timekeeper Helena Smalman-Smith
Thames Valley Skiff Club
Putney Liaison Judith Howell (u) Vesta RC
Welfare Officer Alison Faiers (u)
07709 905706 (on the day)
Thames Tradesmen
Internationals’ Liaison Officer Steve Trapmore Cambridge University BC
Senior Marshal Putney James Davey Putney Town RC
Senior Umpire Putney Daniel Walker (u) Auriol Kensington RC
Volunteer Coordinator Kirsten Adams Vesta RC

(u) Denotes British Rowing Umpire

Race Committee:

  • Judith Packer (Chair)
  • Sarah Winckless
  • Caroline Smith
  • Alison Faiers
  • Jerry Mitchell
  • Daniel Walker

The race committee will refer to any umpires officiating on the day as may be relevant in the event of any query.

Our Constitution

Copies of the Event Accounts are available from the Hon. Secretary on request.